Work Life

Pivoting

I am an entrepreneur.

Despite the fact that I’ve had to put my business on the back burner for a little while, I will always consider myself an entrepreneur. My business was Rosy’s Bake Shoppe and I loved every moment of it. It was a dream I chased coming out of post secondary and I’ve chased it as far as I could at this point in time.

This realization that I wasn’t able to take it any further came and hit me like a ton of bricks. I was unprepared and it devastated me. It was something that I had wanted so bad for so long, and the fact that I had to let it go made it harder to let go of. The original plans for the business in 2013 fell through and it wasn’t growing at the rate I planned for it. I wasn’t hitting the milestones I had set and any business person would agree that it was time to take a step back and re-evaluate.

I cried out to God asking where I was to turn now, because I had felt that He was leading me in the direction of the bake shoppe. I had thought that He wanted me to live this unconventional lifestyle to demonstrate that I didn’t need to live the 9-5 grind to be “successful” and to make a living. He had provided so much for me in the business and I thought it was going to become my full time thing and that it’d be all wonderful and what not.

But I had to pivot. I’d exhausted all options for the bake shoppe and it wasn’t going much further, so I prayed to God, that He’d show me what was next and all I can say isΒ God is good. The logical thing would be to go back to what I went to school for, Human Resources, and see where that would take me. Maybe I would enjoy a corporate HR job too? I’d never know until I tried it. So I started the application and job hunting process. I tweaked my resume, searched through UBC Sauder School of Business’ job search engine, and started applying. Praise God that He provides because I’ll be going into my 3rd interview for a company this afternoon. I’m excited but also nervous. I’ve prepped all that I can and now all I can say is “God’s will be done”.

5 thoughts on “Pivoting

  1. It’s hard to let go of something you want so badly but, atleast you can say you tried and live life with no regrets. I truely believe God has a great path set out for you and with patience you will see everything unfold. Remember, you are still a great baker, your life is filled with positive and supportive people, and you’re getting married! it’s going to be an amazing year into a new journey. Do not stress too much. Good luck with the job hunt πŸ™‚

  2. Will be your supporter no matter what you end up choosing to do! You are so brave! Hope to still see your tea catering service one day because I will be needing them someday :p

Leave a Reply

