In the Kitchen · Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiement #1: “Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies”

Just a question… is anyone else as hooked on Pinterest as I am? I have no idea how 5 minutes browsing through the site turns into half an hour! But anyways, I found this interesting tip on Pinterest and thought I’d give it a try. The pin claimed that adding cornstarch to cookie batter will make it the softest cookie ever! For those that know me, I already have my go-to, been memorized for years, chocolate chip cookie recipe, and I was curious to see if this could trump it. I won’t say it does, but only because I like more chewiness to my cookie and this recipe produces a very soft, almost as if still raw, cookie. It is delicious, but I still love my chewy one πŸ˜‰ But here’s what you’ll need to make these uber soft chocolate chip cookies! Full/original recipe can be found here.

Softie Chocolate Chip Cookies – makes approx 2.5 doz, depending how big you make your cookies

3/4 cup butter, brought to room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar (I only had golden yellow so I used that)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 splashes of vanilla (approx 2 tsp)
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp cornstarch
1 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 cup chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet because that’s what I have)

1. Preheat oven to 350F and prepare 3 baking sheets with parchment.

2. Cream butter until it is smooth, then add in your sugars and mix well.

IMG_0013Β  Β IMG_0014

IMG_0019

3. Crack in your egg, splash in vanilla, and mix until it is all incorporated.

IMG_0020

4. Combine flour, baking soda, cornstarch, and salt in a small bowl and mix before adding to the mixer. Once it gets going in the mixer, add in chocolate chips.

IMG_0016Β  Β IMG_0022

IMG_0026

5. Normally, I just take a spoon and spoon the batter onto the baking sheets. This time, I noticed that the dough was more on the dry and crumbly side and a spoon wasn’t going to cut it. If I had a small ice cream scoop (meant for cookies) then it would have been easier because I could compact it into the scoop, but alas I didn’t have one so I decided to use my hands. I tried two things, rolling them into balls, and then rolling them into balls and flattening them on the baking sheet. I wanted to see if it would make a significant difference in baking and texture.

IMG_0029Β  Β IMG_0030

6. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Just a forewarning, these cookies don’t look all that cooked when they are cooked. The finished product looks almost like a raw cookie because it doesn’t brown much. As per the original recipe, don’t bake more than 10 minutes, but it really depends on your oven. When they’re done, cool them on a cooling rack on the tray until they’re cool enough to handle. Then transfer them onto cookie racks until cooled.

IMG_0033Β  Β IMG_0034

I took a bite of each when they were cooled and there was no difference in texture or taste between the flattened cookies and the ones left in rounds. I had thought that perhaps, the flattened once would cook more and become possibly chewy, but that definitely was not the case. But nonetheless, the cookies are delicious andΒ super soft!Β Give them a try for your next rainy day in, because these paired with a good cup of tea, and a book would be fantabulous! πŸ™‚

IMG_0035

Leave a Reply

