In the Kitchen · Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiment #2: Bluberry Yogurt Cookies

Blueberry Yogurt Cookies. no butter or oil in them. Must try ASAP!

One tip for all Pinterest lovers, especially if you comb through Pinterest for food inspiration: read the reviews on the original blog posts! I came across this pin about blueberry yogurt cookies and the picture that went along with it looked ah-mazing! (see above left) But mine turned out more like what you’ll see below. The comments on the original blog post varied as some seemed to be successful in recreating the exact cookies, but some also ended up with more scone/muffin like things (me being one of them). I thought why not at least give it a try since the pictures were so enticing. I just figured I wouldn’t stir so much but you know what, let me just get into the post and you’ll find out.

Here is the ingredient list, didn’t deviate much from the original: Makes about 3 dozen
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
zest of a lemon
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup fresh (or frozen) blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2.In a large bowl, combine sugar and yogurt. Stir in lemon zest and then blend in egg and vanilla.

IMG_0041IMG_0042

 

3. Whisk to combine all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl. I added half the dry mixture to the wet first and tossed the blueberries in the remainder of the dry ingredients. Then I combined everything just until it was mixed. I didn’t want to over-mix the batter.
IMG_0043 IMG_0045
At this point my batter looked a lot more like a drop biscuit or muffin batter. It was really sticky and looked nothing like cookie batter. I used two small spoons to form the dough into dumpling like shapes. As you can see from the pictures, the dough is so stick it can hang onto the spoon when tilted sideways.

IMG_0047

4. Drop (or form) by tablespoon-fuls onto a lined baking sheet. I recommend a silicone baking mat or just parchment would do just fine. I didn’t try using tinfoil but I had a sneaking suspicion it would stick like crazy! I tried on silicone mat and parchment just to compare the stickiness levels.
IMG_0046 IMG_0048

5. The original recipe says to bake for 10 minutes, but even for my convection oven it seemed that 15 minutes would be better. I wanted to bake them until they started to brown around the edges and also the top. They smell quite delightful coming out of the oven but again, they did not bake to look like cookies but more like scones/muffins.
IMG_0050 IMG_0052

Overall they are delicious and would be great as a morning breakfast treat toasted and served with butter or cream cheese but I wouldn’t consider them cookies. I’m not sure what the original blogger did different but I’d love to know! Good luck to those who are going to try this out and if there’s anything on Pinterest you’d like me to test-drive for you, then please leave the link in the comments down below 🙂

4 thoughts on “Pinterest Experiment #2: Bluberry Yogurt Cookies

  1. Glad you enjoyed them! I would agree that they have a muffin-like texture. I chose to call them cookies based on the definition of cookie found in my go-to source for food classification: The New Food Lover’s Companion, by Sharon & Ron Herbst, which says, “A cookie can be any of various hand-held, flour-based sweet cakes—either crisp or soft.” The definition explains that there are six basic cookie styles, one of which is a drop cookie, which “is made by dropping spoonfuls of dough onto a baking sheet.”

    1. Hey Rachael, ahh I understand where you’re coming from now!:) But really, how did you get yours to look so smooth and perfect? Haha I was tempted to stir the mixture further to smooth it out but didn’t want to overmix, leading to puck-like cookies.

Leave a Reply

