Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiment #3: DIY Mugs

Thanks be to Pinterest for its abundance of DIY gift ideas! I was struggling on what to get Kelvin as he is one of the hardest people to shop for. Reason #1 being he’s a guy and #2 being that he likes “experience” gifts instead of physical ones. For example, I’ve gotten tickets for the Granville Island Brewery tasting tour, thrown him a surprise birthday party, and taken him on a romantic date night. This time around for Valentines Day, we decided on going out to a nice romantic dinner at the Oakwood Bistro, but I still wanted to get him a little something. I decided on something that is a little sentimental and also something that we can use in our future home! (FYI, our wedding is just 101 days away!!) What I decided to do were some couple’s DIY mugs πŸ™‚

I got my mugs from Superstore because my local dollar store didn’t have nice looking mugs, or they were chipped. If you can find a niceΒ cappuccinoΒ mug at the dollar store, go for it! Here’s what you’ll need for this craft project:

Mugs – earthenware/porcelain/oven proof and not plastic!
Sharpies – in whatever colour your heart desires, I kept it simple with black and red
Oven
Some creativity

IMG_0091

1. Start by choosing a design you’d like to put on your mugs. I took inspiration from Pinterest and some Google images.
IMG_0090

2. Practice your drawing a few times before putting it onto the mugs. I wanted to sketch out the placement, change it a bit, and to get a hang for drawing in that style. If you don’t feel crafty enough, you can get couple’s mugs or couple’s stuff similar to this style by checking out BoldLoft. Their’s are soooo adorable!

3. When you feel ready, start drawing on your mugs with your chosen design. Made a mistake? No worries, just take a little nail polish remover on a cotton swab and wipe away your mistake. Easy peasy! I would suggest working from left to right if you’re a righty so you don’t accidentally smudge the sharpie ink (and vice versa for lefties). I also placed remote controls underneath the handles to stabilize the mug whilst drawing on them.You can hold onto it while you draw, place it on a table, whatever works for you.
IMG_0093

4. When you’re satisfied with your design, preheat your oven to 350F. I wasn’t sure how to bake these in the oven since all pins on Pinterest just said “bake”. I chose to place them inside a baking dish lined with parchment. Bake it for 30 minutes and then remove it to cool completely before handling (duh).
IMG_0097

And then voila! You have super cute, can be sentimental, DIY gift πŸ™‚ Here are my before and after shots

IMG_0089

 

IMG_0096Β IMG_0094

Leave a Reply

