In the Kitchen

Chili for a Chilly Day

Winter gloomy cold weather calls for tummy warming dinners right? Although we had one sunny day here in Raincouver, it still got quite chilly by evening. I volunteered to cook dinner for the family and decided to give turkey chili a try. Kelvin had made it before and it smelled amazing and it tasted just as amazing. I didn’t go by a recipe and I sort of just eye balled the amount of ingredients according to what we like in my house. But I think that’s the wonderful thing about stews and chilis, aside from a few basic ingredients, you can’t really mess it up. So here’s what you’ll need:

  • Ground turkey meat – I used turkey thighs but you can use breast instead or any other meat you prefer
  • 1 onion
  • 3-5 stalks of celery
  • 2 carrots
  • 3-4 cloves garlic
  • 1 large can of crushed tomatoes – you can use any kind of canned tomatoes really… I just used crushed
  • 1 small tin of tomato paste
  • 1-3 palm-fuls of chili powder
  • 1 can of red kidney beans – or any other beans of your choice
  • any other veg you want to add –  I added frozen corn
  • any other seasonings you like – I added a small palm-ful of dried oregano and a few dried bay leaves
  • 1/3 cup of raw quinoa – will cook up to 1 cup

Lets get started! As a forewarning, I was in a bit of a rush so I forgot to take more pictures but I’m sure you’ll get the idea.

1. Prep your vegetables by washing, peeling where necessary, and chopping all of them into bite sized pieces. For the garlic, leave them whole and just give them a good smash. Get the quinoa started, and cook according to package instructions.

2. In a large pot, add in a few tablespoons of olive oil, then add the turkey meat and let it brown a bit and cook through.

IMG_1231

 

3. Add in the onions and garlic and let it cook until the garlic becomes fragrant and the onions become a bit translucent.

IMG_1232

 

4. Start adding in the vegetables. I like to go in order of what takes longest to cook first (carrots) and moving my way to other veg that takes less time (celery).

IMG_1233

 

5. Once the veg has cooked a bit, add in the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, beans, and some water to loosen the mixture up. At this point, also add in the cooked quinoa.

IMG_1234

 

6. Add in your spices, seasonings, and lastly the frozen corn! I put in quite a bit of black pepper, and about 2 tsp of salt. I would normally put in more chili powder and some dried chili flakes, but my family doesn’t like that much spice so I held back.

IMG_1237

 

7. Now just bring it up to a slight boil, then reduce the heat to low and put a lid on it. Allow it to simmer for at least 30 minutes to get the carrots cooked through.

8. Serve and enjoy! I topped mine with some fresh avocado and a side of homemade garlic toast.

Leave a Reply

