In the Kitchen

Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

cover pic

First off, I need to thank Judy and Benji from itsjudyslife and BenjiManTV for introducing me to this wonderful lady named Laura Vitale from Laura in the Kitchen. I’ve been watching her videos for a few weeks now and I’m not sure what compelled me to, but I just had to give her coconut chocolate chip cookies a try. Oh my goodness they are absolutely AH-mazing! Fresh and warm from the oven with a cup of bitter coffee just made my gloomy afternoon in Raincouver (aka Vancouver) a little less gloomy.

recipe card

The recipe had an ingredient that I am not familiar baking with, and that’s vegetable shortening. I have used shortening in making fondant before, but have never given it a try in my baking. Laura claimed that the shortening would give the cookie a lighter texture and it sure did. The cookie is crisp on the edges and on that initial bite but once you get to the center of the cookie, it’s just gooey and chewy and all things you want in a cookie! The coconut definitely gave it a great texture and because I didn’t want my cookies to be that sweet, I used unsweetened shredded coconut.

shortening coconut

Otherwise, there’s nothing special to the recipe. It’s basically a standard chocolate chip cookie that follows the traditional cookie baking method. 1) cream together fats and sugar 2)add eggs and vanilla 3)add dry ingredients and 4)stir in additions. For me, I had hoped the cookies would have spread out more when baked but my finished dough was a bit on the dry side. Next time I might try with a 1/3 less cup of flour and see what happens. With the finished batter, I thought there was too much coconut and chocolate chips to batter ratio, but once they baked up, it was absolutely perfect! With my dough scoop, I ended up with exactly 2 dozen cookies but the original recipe said it would make 3 dozen. It’s just because I have a different size cookie scoop and you just gotta work with what you have.

dough exactly 2 dozen

The recipe called for a baking time of 9-11 minutes, but mine took 13 minutes to get to their perfectly baked state. The difference was likely due to the fact that I used my convection oven and it automatically reduces the temperature to account for the convection part of it? Also, the recipe instructed me to place the oven racks on the very top and very bottom and then rotate in the middle. I’m partly lazy and hate having to rotate pans in the oven so I just left them in the middle and took advantage of the convection oven air circulation! My goodness, the smell that filled my kitchen made me wish I was Hermoine and could simply wave my wand to get these cookies to bake faster! (Any HP fans out there?)

Baked and delicious! nom nom nom

I could barely let them cool enough before I wanted to sneak a taste. While I was photographing these, it was extremely difficult not to just start munching, I swear they are absolutely delicious and you have to give them a try tonight. It’s a perfect night for baking in Vancouver since it’s been raining cats and dogs all day, and nothing is better than snuggling up to a movie on a rainy Vancouver night with your loved one/family/friends! If the above photos haven’t convinced you yet, let me try with these…

temptation craving them yet?

just make them already couldn't help myself

Thanks for stopping by and stay tuned for some exciting news! Have a great Friday night and a wonderful weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

