Life

Dating?

Part of my dating philosophy and for the Christians out there that are honestly and wholeheartedly looking to find their spouse that God intended them to find.
Part of my dating philosophy and for the Christians out there that are honestly and wholeheartedly looking to find their spouse that God intended them to find. It’s ok if you disagree, but hey it worked out for me and I’m married πŸ˜‰

I overheard a lovely girl talking rather loudly on her phone in the alleyway outside our window. It’s hard not to listen in when her voice grew louder and louder and more annoyed. As I listened more carefully, I realized the poor thing was getting dumped over the phone. (Sidenote: guy on the other line, really? You didn’t have the courage to do it in person?? /Facepalm…)

Then it got me thinking,

What is it like to be dating someone?

I honestly can’t remember what it was like anymore because well I’m happily married to my best friend and before that, we were in a committed relationship with no silly dating games. Not to be rubbing it in anyone’s face or anything, but what I’m trying to say is that from the get go, Kelvin and I laid out our intentions and expectations clearly and honestly. There was no dilly dawdling around what our relationship meant, playing each other, and neither did we have to have an awkward “DTR” (define the relationship) talk because we had already talked about it.

Of course there were the initial butterflies-in-my-tummy moments and the beginning flirty (or in our case flirty/severely sarcastic) conversations. I’m not saying you cut those fun make-your-heart-skip-a-beat moments or the hold-your-breath-I-think-he-is-going-to-say-I-love-you moments. Of course embrace those! But what I don’t get are the mind games, the stalking, and the over analyzing parts.

Why does dating have to be some confusing game or some validation that you can “get the girl/guy”? Some people say it’s fun but I can think of infinitely funner things that won’t cost someone heartbreak, confusion, or hurt. Why can’t both parties go into it with honest intentions and possibly, get to meet your future husband/wife sooner and get to spend more happy married years together?

What are your thoughts? And… go! (In the comments below)

Leave a Reply

