In the Kitchen

Vanilla Bean Goodness

When my neighbour/pastor/friend offered me some vanilla beans, I couldn’t say no. I’ve never worked with vanilla beans just because it’s a bit expensive to get a hold of, so I was ecstatic to use them. I had the perfect opportunity, and it was my in-laws labour day BBQ.

I felt so stuck when deciding what to bake because I wanted to really showcase the vanilla bean, but I didn’t want to overdo it. I didn’t want to complicate the flavour and add in too much. After going around and around in head from cookies, to loaves, to cakes and cupcakes, I finally decided on cupcakes. But not just regular cupcakes, mini cupcakes!

IMG_1971

So time to get started on baking. First I had to harvest all the vanilla goodness out of those beans. I’ve seen many people do this on TV but have never done it myself. Not going to lie, I was a little intimidated but I finally got it. I was worried I’d split the bean in half and make getting the flavour out harder, but turns out the outer casing was pretty tough. So I slit it, and then ran my pairing knife on the inside. Voila! Intense vanilla flavour!

IMG_1964Β IMG_1965

Now I didn’t actually use vanilla bean in my cupcakes because I didn’t want to overdo it. I used the vanilla bean in the icing. But ah, it was no regular butter frosting, it was a vanilla beanΒ cream cheese frosting. Yum right? Everyone would have agreed at the BBQ as I didn’t take any home.

IMG_1968
Can you see the specks of vanilla yumminess?

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Goodness

Leave a Reply

