In the Kitchen · Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiement #4: Pumpkin Shtuff

Happy Halloween everyone! To get in the mood and also in preparation for our friend’s potluck halloween party tonight, I decided to bake up some pumpkin shtuff. I’m not sure why I like to say it like that, but it’s just fun. Go ahead, give it a try! πŸ™‚

In the last week or so, I’ve been seeing a lot of pumpkin flavoured baked goods showing up on my Pinterest and YouTube feeds. I’m always weary of what I see on Pinterest because I haven’t had a lot of success in recreating it, albeit they taste good but don’t look good. This time, thank goodness, these Melt-in-Your-Mouth Pumpkin Cookies and Pumpkin Swirl Blondies turned out as pictured and tasted delish! And I chose these two recipes because of this can of pumpkin puree:

DSC_0129I say this can, because with the cookie recipe, I didn’t want to make the full batch because that would be 60 cookies! Dang girl that’s way too much to have around! So I cut the recipe in half, ergo the recipe only needed half a can of pumpkin puree. So I searched for a recipe that would use up the other half of the can perfectly.

After I got the dough all mixed together, I was ready to use my brand new cookie scoop from Superstore and I was so excited to find it at Superstore for a steal! I had it in mind that these would make the perfect bite sized cookies, perfect for Christmas baking season. But low and behold… 5 cookies in, it broke…

DSC_0132Β Β DSC_0134
I’m so disappointed in the Superstore quality! It was cheaper than my other cookie scoops ($6 compared to $18), but I thought it would hold up for at least a few batches. Even my Daiso $2 cheapo plastic scoop lasted for half a year! Anyways, needless to say I will be returning that scoop.

So without a scoop, I went the old school route and used two small spoons and formed the dough into little balls.Β They baked for 12 minutes at 350F and came out looking like mini cakes. The bottoms were that perfect shade of brown and my kitchen smelled AH-mazing!

DSC_0133

DSC_0135
The next task was to make the frosting to top off these delicious cuties. The icing is optional and these make great snacks without it. It’s actually easier to bring for a midday snack at school/work without the frosting because then you don’t have to worry about the dairy in the icing spoiling. But for a Halloween party, I had to make it a little more special and make the frosting!

I started by melting the brown sugar and butter together. I let it cook out and bubble a bit to get more of a caramelized taste, before stirring in a splash of milk and vanilla. Next, I transferred it to a larger bowl and beat in the icing sugar until it reached a smooth, rich, creamy, consistency. I usually like using my stand mixer, but for this bit of icing, I finally got to break out my hand mixer! We received it as a wedding gift and I just hadn’t found the right opportunity to use it yet. I used to use a hand mixer all the time before I got a stand mixer, but ever since I switched, I just can’t go back that easily. Partly because with a stand mixer, I can turn it on and have the freedom to roam around my kitchen and sift the dry ingredients whilst the sugars and butter are beating. Oh wow sorry for that tangent, haha carrying on!

DSC_0145Β Β DSC_0146
Then just spread them onto your cookies and sprinkle with a dash of pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon to make it pretty. If you want to get fancy pipe the frosting on, but I was feeling a little lazy so using a butter knife was fine for me.

DSC_0149Β Β DSC_0152

And because I had the rest of the can of pumpkin puree left, I made blondies! Which are pretty much brownies without the chocolate, or think of it as a giant soft cookie, or a brownie wannabe.

Before
Before
After
After

Thanks for reading and have a great and safe Halloween!

 

Leave a Reply

