Life · Reading Material

Reading Material: The Help

DSC_0179

I’ve always loved to read, but university sort of killed it for me. Those daily readings and the dull chapters made reading a chore and I shied away from books for a while. But I’ve rediscovered how much I love them and I’d like to share with you my recommendations. I tend to lean towards fiction, but every now and then Kelvin gives me a great non-fiction read, mostly business related.

This leads me to my recent read: The Help by Kathryn Stockett. When it first came out, I read it right away and got my mom into to it too, because it was such a good read. It was calling out to me on my bookshelf and I decided to pick it up last week and I’m so glad I did. The premise of the book is that a few maids and a liberal young lady decide to go against the grain of racial segregation in Jackson, Mississippi, and write a book about what it’s like to be “the help”. It’s controversial for that time and that’s what makes it exciting. There are the usual ups and downs of trying to hide such a big secret and learning to deal with the consequences, whether they’re good or bad.

What I love most about this book is that Ms. Stockett developed the characters so well that I became so deeply connected with and attached to them. I felt the hurt, the pain, and the tears, despite the fact that I could never imagine what it felt like being as the book puts it, “coloured”, in a time where there was so much racial segregation. I also like how it’s written in the perspective of 3 key characters. The way Ms. Stockett wrote Minny and Aibeleen’s chapters, I could hear it so clearly, that deep southern accent, and that way of speaking. Heck, I sometimes find myself speaking in that way having read it so much. Thankfully, my hubby thinks it’s cute.

I don’t have many negative things, if any, to say about the book. I’ll say I’m definitely not fond of the character, Hilly, but that just means it was written so well.

I encourage you to wrap yourself up with this book on the weekend, with a hot cup of tea and biscuits nearby. Even if you’ve watched the movie, read the book! The movie left out and changed up the order of events a bit and there’s some great redeeming points in the book for some of the bridge club ladies.

Thanks again for stopping by and reading. If you have any great books you’d recommend me to read next, please leave them in the comment section below!

One thought on “Reading Material: The Help

Leave a Reply

