In the Kitchen

Starbucks Copycat: Oat Fudge Bars

This copycat recipe is nothing new to me. I actually learned about this recipe when I was in my high school catering class, but at that time I didn’t realize it was a Starbucks copycat (I wasn’t much of a coffee drinker then). I never copied down the recipe and only wish I did! Thankfully, a friend of mine stumbled across it and sent it to me right away. I was excited to get baking but I felt like I needed to wait for an opportunity such as a bible study or get together, just so I don’t have an entire tray sitting on my dining table, tempting me and calling out to me. That stuff gets addictive! I decided to half the original recipe because a 9×13″ tray of oat fudge bars is a bit overkill, unless it’s for a big party. So here is the halved ingredient list that I baked in a square 8×8″ tray:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (don’t use milk chocolate! it’ll be over-the-top sweet)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Let’s get started!

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F and prep your baking tray by lining it with foil or parchment paper. I would definitely recommend using either to ensure easy clean up, and so that your bars don’t get stuck to the baking pan. An easy tip to make sure you don’t rip your tinfoil when trying to fit it into the corners: wrap the foil around the outside of the pan first, then fit the moulded foil into the pan.DSC_0195
  2. Beat your sugars and 1/2 cup of butter. Once it’s all incorporated, add in the egg.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, oats and baking soda.DSC_0199
  4. Slowly add this into the butter and sugar mixture. Don’t over mix it, or else all the oats will break down and you’ll lose the look of a whole rolled oat. At the end, finish mixing with a spatula or your hands. In the process of mixing it, I lost my most loved spatula! Therefore, I switched to using my hands. I’d recommend hands too.DSC_0202DSC_0203DSC_0205
  5. Press 2/3 of this oat mixture into your prepared pan. Get your hands messy and use your fingers to spread and push the mixture into the corners.DSC_0207
  6. In a saucepan, melt together the sweetened condensed milk, chocolate chips, 1/4 cup butter, and vanilla. Have it on a medium high heat, and watch it carefully so that it doesn’t burn. Like I described above, preferable use a semi sweet or dark chocolate because the condensed milk is already to sweet, you don’t want it to be diabetes in a bite. Melt and mix it until the mixture is smooth and luxurious looking!DSC_0211DSC_0213
  7. Pour this over the pressed oat mixture and tilt the pan to spread the chocolatey fudge mixture evenly. Take your remaining 1/3 oat mixture and drop flattened lumps randomly onto the fudge mixture. It’ll look either like animal print or some very interesting cluster of islands among a chocolatey ocean.DSC_0214DSC_0217
  8. Bake it in the oven for 25 minutes, rotating it once in the middle. Let the bars cool completely in the pan and on a cooling rack before you slice into it. Otherwise, the fudge won’t have set and it’s just going to ooze everywhere. Equally tasty but not as pretty.DSC_0225DSC_0226
  9. Serve with ice cream or fresh whipped cream for dessert, or with a great cup of tea or coffee for an afternoon snack. Delicious and decadent both ways! Trim the edges so you can clearly see the chewy oat-y base layer and the fudge and some more oat-y goodness on top. DSC_0241DSC_0247

This is a great potluck dessert to bring since it bakes in one tray and you can cut it up however you’d like to accommodate the party size. If you wanted to serve it straight from a baking dish, just line the bottom of the pan with parchment and once the bar is cooled, run an offset spatula along the sides of the bar to loosen it from the dish. If you wanted to get creative, shape those oat-y blobs into heart shapes or even letters, it’s all up to you.

If you want another potluck crowd pleaser, check out this blooming onion bread, it’ll definitely get you some oohs and aahs.

As always, thanks for stopping by and reading. Hope you have a great day and let me know if you try this out!

2 thoughts on “Starbucks Copycat: Oat Fudge Bars

Leave a Reply

