In the Kitchen

‘Tis The Season… To Bake!

It’s Christmas for me when one of a few things happen.

  1. I get myself a Starbucks peppermint mocha. Mmmmm!
  2. The city strings up their Christmas lights to adorn the dark and dreary streets for commuters coming home from work.
  3. I have a Christmas playlist playing on Songza 24/7.
  4. I start baking gingerbread!

The recipe I used is from Sprinkle Bakes so I won’t list it here, and instead recommend you check out her book because it is AH-mazing! My mentor gave it to me as a gift and it’s truly a work of art because the author, Heather Baird, is an artist turned baker.

IMG_2379

So onto decorating. I have to admit that I was feeling a bit lazy and didn’t want to have 3-5 different colours of royal icing and with that, 3-5 piping bags and needing to rewash piping tips because I only have one of the one I needed. My solution… multi-coloured SPRINKLES! It’s definitely not as clean or professional looking, well for the first few ones I made, but I made it work. I like to pipe, but I don’t prepping to pipe. Ergo, my favourite design became the retro polka dotted Christmas trees. To get there, I tried other ways to decorate the cookies, such as swishes on the trees with green sprinkles, and piping outfits for the gingerbread ladies. It sort of worked out… sort of didn’t. At least not to the point where I want them to be.

IMG_2381 IMG_2382

IMG_2383 IMG_2384

For those of you baking tonight, or this weekend, here are some easy piping ideas. For more, just head over to Pinterest.

gingerbread 2 5c7a72312ee686a1550122ededfb720d

Leave a Reply

