Faith · Life

Music Therapy

A perfect afternoon of tea, burning candle, and writing music.
A perfect afternoon of tea, burning candle, and writing music.

For this term of Sunday School, I took the class “History of Worship”, and have been loving it! My first reason to take the class is that I’m a music leader at church and wouldn’t it be good for all music leaders to understand where our modern Christian praise and worship music comes from? We also dissected a combination of hymns, and modern songs, and really dug deep into the lyrics. If we’re going to be leading our congregation into worship, then our music should be scripturally sound and contain sound doctrine? Wow, my mind was blown because for some reason I never thought of it that way before.

So when we got to our final project, writing our own praise and worship song, I took everything we learned to heart. I wanted to make sure I was explicitly stating who we are worshipping and ensure it was doctrinally sound. It so therapeutic to write and to put it to music because I’ve been going through an interesting, to say the least, transition time. It helped remind me of God’s providence, His glory, and His love. Writing it out, singing, and playing it helped put aside my doubts and to help me look at this transition time with a different perspective. Instead of worrying about finding HR experience, I am thankful for my health, my friends and family, and cherishing the time that I get to spend with my husband while he gets his vacation time.

I’m excited to share the song with you when it’s finished and recorded! It’s still a work-in-progress and I have the basic chord progression down, but I’m excited to get my drummer and piano friends to add their take on how it could sound. Exciting and therapeutic!

Thanks again for stopping and taking a read!

Leave a Reply

