Faith · Life · See the World

2014 Resolutions

IMG_2494

Kelvin and I are so blessed to get to celebrate another set of firsts this year! Four and a half years ish ago, we celebrated our first date, first kiss, and our first hurdle as a couple. Since May 2013, we’ve celebrated our first morning together, first home together, and first Christmas as a married couple. Setting resolutions for 2014 is exciting because we get to sit down, discuss, and plan out how we want to achieve our individual goals, as well as joint ones. Along with that will be more firsts!

Here are two of our joint resolutions/goals:

  1. Travel somewhere out of the continent!
    We have London, Hong Kong and Tokyo in mind and have yet to decide. We plan to go during a long weekend so Kelvin can tack on his vacation days to existing holidays so he can get more days off without taking too many off. Get what I mean? He learned that from his co-workers, a smart bunch.
  2. Make a conscious effort to spend more time with friends and get to know other married couples.
    We have to admit that we may not have been the greatest at touching base and keeping up with friends after getting married. It’s just we’ve found ourselves either so tired after work, or it’s just easier to hang out at home and be home bodies. But we want this to change because we want to grow together with our friends and see them on a more regular basis. Albeit that means we’re going to be planning outings/coffees/brunches more in advance now since our group of friends lives all over the Greater Vancouver area and we all have different work/school schedules. As for getting to know other married couples better, it’s sort of like how when you’re in a relationship, it’s hard to relate to single people problems because you’re just not at that stage anymore. Similarly, Kelvin and I want to get to know the other young married couples at our church because now that we’re married, we’re facing a different set of struggles and difficulties.

As for my own resolutions/goals:

  1. Master French on Duolingo!
    Now I’m not sure if I’ll be completely fluent in French by the time I finish all the levels in Duolingo, but my goal is to finish all the levels and hopefully be able to put on my resume “working proficiency in French”. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out my post here.
  2. Learn to play the drums.
    I love music and getting to be a part of the worship band at my church. I started off leading a band in just a singing and piano capacity. But to be honest, it’s very hard to lead music when you’re behind the piano. For that reason, I picked up acoustic guitar and have found myself feeling more liberated when leading worship and it being so much better! But I’m noticing now that we have very few drummers at our church and I would like to be able to help fill that void. So I’m looking into options on how I can best learn. If you have any ideas/tips please leave them in the comments!
  3. Read one book a month.
    Reading is just so good for you! My books will be a combination of fiction and non-fiction. I like to read fiction because of all the different writing styles used to communicate tone, mood, and atmosphere. I figure it’ll help my writing/blogging as well. As for non-fiction, this is more for personal learning and business related stuff. Currently I’m readingย Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking and I have really been enjoying it. A review will be coming once I finish it!

What are your resolutions for the new year and what are you going to do to achieve them? Make sure to set S.M.A.R.T. goals!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

One thought on “2014 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

