Life · Reading Material

Reading Material: Packing Light

DSC_0348

Packing Light, came as a recommendation by a good friend of mine, and a good recommendation it was. The title says it all “Packing Light: Thoughts on Living Life with Less Baggage” but just to clarify the plot line, this book is a journal of a 50 state road trip between 2 friends, and the lessons learnt.Overall it was an enjoyable read and I finished it within a weeks time. It was hard for me to put it down because the protagonist, which is the author Allison Vesterfelt, is such a relatable person. I was empathetic to her joys and struggles and I could really relate because we were both struggling with the tension between finding God’s path for us or doing what’s easy and safe.

My biggest takeaway was that the idea of “packing light” can be applied to every aspect of our lives. As we get older, we tend to accumulate baggage – whether it is in the form of student loans, car payments, past relationships, technology we can’t afford and many others – and this baggage holds us back from living our life to the fullest. This baggage holds us back from taking those leaps of faith that God is calling us to take so that He can show us what a wholly satisfying way of living life is. It’s like me saying that I don’t want to go on missions because I won’t know what to do with our furniture. Am I really going to let a dresser and bed stop me from going on missions?

I can’t think of any negatives about this book so I encourage you to pick it up and let me know your thoughts! Disclaimer though, the book is sort of geared towards a Christian audience as the author herself is and the book is her journal. So be prepared for references to bible verses and parables, and if you have questions, there’s always the internet to look up stuff or shoot me a message and let’s chat!

Thanks as always for stopping by and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

