Life

Overrated: University Education

Q: If you could go back and choose a different university degree, what would it be?
A: I probably wouldn’t have chosen a university degree

Looking back, I definitely don’t regret going to university, it was a great learning experience and I’ve met so many amazing people through it. University is great for those academically inclined or want to have a career as a professional (doctor, lawyer, accountant, etc) but it is not for everybody; and that’s okay.

I never felt pressure to go to university but I knew it was something my parents and grandparents desired for me. They believed it would give me a better future and they had good intentions with that notion because in their time it would have guaranteed a good job. But times are changing now; PhDs are the new masters degrees and masters degrees are the new bachelors degrees. I love learning but I couldn’t go through that many years of academia. In all honesty, a university degree won’t guarantee you a job nowadays. If your goal is to get a job after post secondary, then you’re better off going to a trades or technical school. Specifically speaking about business school, what you learn in your undergrad won’t be too useful until you become a manager and I’m a believer that if you were diligent and conscientious in your work, you could have gotten there and learned it on the job, as you would have in university but paid a lot less for it.

So if I had a time machine and could go back, I may have played more to my strengths in baking and gone to study the pastry arts, or gone into event planning, or studied dance. But then again, I wouldn’t change a thing because although career stuff isn’t ideal now, I’m really happy with where I am in life. A job or career isn’t everything.

What I really wanted to get across in this post is that there are so many options after high school. Don’t be pressured into thinking there’s only university and a science or business or engineering degree (being part of an Asian family, you may see those as your only options). There’s so much if you would just explore and if high school did a better job of showing you all the options.

So I thought I'd share with you some of my graduation photos as well. Here are my proud parents and especially proud grandparents. I stayed with my grandparents many summers when I was a kid whilst my parents were working so they've always been a big part of my life. That's why it was special to have them there at my graduation. Check out my boss grandpa in his fedora, sports coat and badass cane! Haha
So I thought I’d share with you some of my graduation photos as well. Here are my proud parents and especially proud grandparents. I stayed with my grandparents many summers when I was a kid whilst my parents were working so they’ve always been a big part of my life. That’s why it was special to have them there at my graduation. Check out my boss grandpa in his fedora, sports coat and badass cane! Haha
I love my mom :)
I love my mom 🙂
I forgot Kelvin used to own these Harry Potter-esque glasses...
I forgot Kelvin used to own these Harry Potter-esque glasses…

Thanks for stopping by and taking a read! I hope you have a great weekend 🙂

2 thoughts on “Overrated: University Education

  1. I know this guy who didn’t do university but worked in the kitchen for more than ten years. The restaurants are pretty well known around town too. Now he’s trying to get his way out of the restaurant and wants to do business instead… Kinda opposite of your situation in some ways.

    We’re still young; hopefully life will make more sense when we look back one day

Leave a Reply

