In the Kitchen

Crisps with Sriracha Mayo

Yes you read that right, crisps not chips. Haha I know my British friends would understand that but for those that don’t, in the UK they call chips crisps, and fries chips. You know, fish and chips? Just thought I’d share that fun fact with you.

Doesn't that just look absurdly crunchy?!
Doesn’t that just look absurdly crunchy?!

Lately Kelvin has been craving crisps and we all know how unhealthy they are for us. So I thought I’d take a stab at making them healthier but equally delicious. Here’s a pro tip, it’s all in the dipping sauce! Here is what you’ll need for your crisps and dip:

  • 3 potatoes (or more)
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil (or enough to thinly coat all the potato slices)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • any other fancy spices you like (paprika, chili powder, etc)
  • Japanese or regular mayonnaise
  • Sriracha sauce
  • Garlic powder

Let’s bake!

  1. Preheat your oven to 400F and line your baking sheets with parchment. If you don’t have parchment paper, you could simply grease your baking pan. I’m just lazy and hate cleaning my baking pans so I opt for the parchment paper. I wouldn’t recommend using tinfoil unless you greased it, because it’d stick.
  2. Using a mandolin or your super chef knife skills, slice the potatoes ¼ or  of and inch thick. This might be common sense but I’ll say it anyways. Always use the safety grip and to make it easier, slice your potatoes in half so there’s a flat working surface.
    DSC_0370DSC_0372
  3. Toss the slices with olive oil, salt, pepper, and spices and arrange flat on your baking sheet.
    DSC_0374DSC_0376
  4. Bake for 30-40 minutes for thicker crisps and 20-25 minutes for thinner crisps.
  5. Let cool on a cooling rack until you can handle them with your fingers without burning yourself.
  6. Serve with the mayo, which is just mayonnaise, sriracha, and garlic powder all, mixed together. I didn’t give measurements because I want you to make it to your liking, so if you like it spicier add more sriracha!
    DSC_0381

Enjoy! Easy and delicious.

Teehee can you tell what I was watching while munching on these crisps?
Teehee can you tell what I was watching while munching on these crisps?

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

