In the Kitchen

Lemon Poppy Seed Loaf

I’m baaaaack! I’ve finished my TESOL program at VCC and am waiting on my exam results (but we’re all sure we’ve all passed since it was a take home exam and we were allowed to work in groups). That means for all you lovely readers, that I’ll be back to posting on a more regular schedule. I’ll share all about my TESOL certification process in another post soon, but for now I give you an oldie but a goodie recipe.

DSC_0412 DSC_0410 DSC_0405

So I have a small problem. When I crave something, I tend to make it. Can you imaging what I’m going to be like when I’m pregnant?! Haha so it started on Monday when my friend brought in a Starbucks lemon loaf to class and I thought “ooh that looks good”. So here I am with my version of a lemon poppy seed loaf. Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

Loaf:

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1-1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp milk
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 tbsp poppy seeds

Glaze:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon

Let’s bake!

  1. Preheat your oven to 350F and line your 8.5″ x 4.5″ loaf pan with parchment or tinfoil. Usually I’d prefer parchment but today I felt lazy and went with tinfoil.
  2. Cream together your butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs one at a time.
  4. Add in lemon zest.
  5. Mix your flour, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl and pour out your milk into a measuring cup.
  6. Starting with your dry ingredients, alternately mix in dry and milk into the butter-sugar-egg mixture. The aim is to start and end with the dry ingredients. This allows for better incorporation of ingredients and a lesser chance of over-mixing and getting a lemon brick instead of a lemon loaf 🙂 .
  7. Stir in your lemon juice. This is not done separately from the milk because when you pour lemon juice into milk it curdles…
  8. Mix in poppy seeds.
  9. Spread batter into your prepared loaf pan and bake for 45-60 minutes. The baking time will depend entirely on your oven. Bake until the top of the loaf is golden brown and an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
    DSC_0393
  10. When the loaf is all baked, remove from the oven and spoon the glaze all over it. I poked some holes into the loaf to let the glaze seep through and permeate the loaf with it’s lemony goodness!
  11. Let it cool in the pan for 15 minutes or so, and then take it out of the pan and cool completely on a cooling rack.

To make the glaze:

  1. Put your lemon juice into a glass or bowl and add in 1/4 cup of sugar at a time.
  2. Stir vigorously after each sugar addition. Don’t worry if it looks clumpy at first with the first 1/4 cup or sugar. It’ll look right after you put in the rest of the sugar.
    DSC_0401 DSC_0403

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have an absolutely wonderful day!

DSC_0394

 

Leave a Reply

