Work Life

Aha!

Last week was crazy and I’m revving up for this week, but I wanted to share with you a great moment from my class last week.

It all started with me handing back their writing assignment and one student was confused with my corrections. I saw this student ask another student and they were discussing the correction but were still confused as to why it was so. I went over to explain the correction but it seemed that more students had the same question so I decided to put it up on the board for everyone to see. Here were the 2 sentences:

  1. He stopped playing soccer 10 years ago.
  2. He stopped to play soccer 10 years ago.

So close yet not the same meaning! It got me thinking that goodness gracious, these students are amazing for learning English because English is not logical and there are so many irregularities. Nonetheless, I started dissecting the sentence and reviewing the past tenses they learned earlier that week, as well as drawing some timelines for the visual learners. I kept explaining and talking and then I realized that I needed to be quiet and let them process.

One thing I’m learning is to give the students time to process what’s just been taught. Because it’s easy for us native English speakers definitely does not mean it will be easy for them, no matter their level. 

So I gave them some time to read over the sentences on the board and then the most beautiful thing happened. I could see this student’s eyes light up as if a lightbulb just turned on in their brain. This student understood! This student yelled out “AHA! Rosy I got it!” and I was more than happy to have him explain it to the class.

That is one of the reasons why I love teaching, seeing those aha moments. I truly enjoy helping someone else learn and helping them achieve their goals. I can’t wait to share more with you as I continue to learn and teach. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

