Life

Healthy De-Stressing

field

Working for someone and working for yourself poses different advantages and disadvantages. I like working with others, like at school now, but sometimes I just wish I could go back to baking in my kitchen and silently piping lace flowers with Taylor Swift playing in the background.

So, now that I work at a school, I see, listen, and talk to many many teachers and students on a daily basis. It’s great because I love all the interpersonal interactions, but it’s also not so great when teachers are in a bad mood or students are having off days. So what’s one to do when everything just seems like poop?

First, let’s go with what not to do:

  1. Loudly venting and repeatedly complaining in the staff room. I know I’m not the only one having a bad day so there’s no point in yelling it across the staff room. It might help me temporarily, but it’ll dampen everyone else’s mood.
  2. Taking it out on students. Self-explanatory right?

Here are my suggestions. These have worked well for me and I think my coworkers may appreciate it too:

  1. Take a deep breath. Or a few. It’s amazing how something so simple can make such a big impact. If it’s too noisy or chaotic in the staffroom, go outside for some fresh air and that’ll help to.
  2. Exercise. Go out for a long run with your favourite playlist, do some yoga, or dance it out. Exercising gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t vent aggressively, they just don’t. 😉
  3. Go to your happy place. Whether it be a coffee shop, museum, home to family, or anywhere, just go to wherever makes you happy.

Have anymore tips that you’d like to share? Leave them in the comments below.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

