Life · Work Life

Sick Days

kaboompics.com_Sleeping little dog

This is the first time in my working life that I’ve taken a sick day. I don’t know why but I really didn’t want to, despite the fact that I was having a bit of a coughing fit yesterday morning. Maybe it’s the workaholic in me, or that I just love my job and I want to go to work. But I knew yesterday morning that I would have to call in sick. I’ve been battling a cough that fluctuates between dry and phlegmy and I was experiencing a little bit of both. I was pretty sure that no amount of medicine would help my cause, and the best remedy would be to stay home.

So then I started to wonder if anyone else felt the same way too. They know they should probably take a sick day but try to resist it for who knows what reason. Being the workaholic that I am, I felt the need to make a list to justify the reasons for taking a sick day and the benefits of it.

  1. Quarantine yourself at home to prevent spreading your cold/flu to others. I sort of wish my students did this too because I’m pretty sure I caught it from one of them. I remind them to cough/sneeze into their elbow but they still tend to cough uncovered… onto their papers… which I mark.
  2. It will speed up your recovery. This is especially true for anyone who has to talk all day. I have a cough and sore throat and talking all day with a loud projected voice is not going to make it better. More than anything, it’ll probably aggravate it more and prolong it. I know this because some of my fellow teachers have done this to themselves.
  3. RestΒ and sleep. Resting and sleeping does the body good. In a world where we feel the need to be productive 24/7, resting and sleeping may seem like the biggest wastes of time, but it’s not! We have to start believing that rest is productive because it’s how we recharge to stay productive.
  4. Better to rest up and be 100% tomorrow, than to be at 50% for a few or more days. I’d rather spend one day recovering so that I can be my 100% for my class because I don’t want to be at 50% for a prolonged period of time. I feel that it affects their learning and I refuse to give anything less than my all.

I was hoping to get it to a rounded list of 5, but 4 is all I can think of. If you have more great reasons to share then please leave them below and I’ll add to them the list.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

