Faith

I Never Could Have Imagined…

openroad

I was reading this article and it really struck a chord with me. It’s titled “So Your Life Didn’t Turn Out The Way You’d Hoped”. Boy I wish I had this bit of encouragement last year but I’m hoping it can be encouraging for any of you brothers and sisters out there who need to hear it now.

I think we were raised in an environment where many people told us “you are unique and you’re going places!”, or something along those lines. Now I’m not denying the fact that each one of us is unique and has different things to contribute, but it can be misleading to tell every child that their uniqueness is going to be world/life changing.

I felt like one of these children growing up and I imagined my future working life to be amazing and life changing. I expected to work hard at the beginning, but that it would soon lead to amazing epic experiences that would catapult me into success. See the problem is, I had a very wrong view of what a meaningful and successful life would look like.

I used to think that I had to be a somebody by the world’s standards and somehow be a “super Christian” at the same time. But now, I realize it’s completely ok to be a nobody by this world’s standards because that is no longer how I measure success or my self-worth. I don’t measure it with my salary, possessions, or status. A full and meaningful life for me is quality time with family, friends, and growing deeper in the Lord. It’s knowing that what I’m doing now, is contributing to His kingdom.

So for all us millennials out there that are having our quarter life crisis and wondering why God hasn’t allowed us to achieve greatness, consider this. It’s quoted from the article in Relevant Magazine:

…it’s OK to be a nobody by the world’s standards. In fact, despite our striving and straining, most of us will be. Your greatest challenge isn’t achieving greatness. It’s realizing the greatness in what God is accomplishing in you where you are (which may require you to redefine what greatness really means) and being consistently faithful right there.

I encourage you to read the full article, it’s a good one, and let me know your thoughts.

Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful day 🙂

One thought on “I Never Could Have Imagined…

  1. Thank you for your kind words!! I know from personal experience that this is always a rough place to be and I hope you were able to find comfort and purpose in the midst of this season.

Leave a Reply

