Life · Work Life

Classroom Disappointment

Startup Stock Photos

I figured it’d only be a matter of time before I had to deal with this issue in the classroom: plagiarism.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised but it still disappoints me. I’ve never understood cheating because it never benefits you. Sure you may get that great mark that one time (if your teacher doesn’t catch you), but you still haven’t learnt anything. You don’t know anything more than before and isn’t that the whole point of school and learning?

Tell me, is it a cultural thing? I’m hoping it’s more just a personality thing. We’veย encountered cheating at our school before and students from a certain part of the world seem to see nothing wrong with it. I had a student plagiarize the other day in class and when I asked him about it, he looked at me dumbfounded, as if it was the most normal thing and it was a mystery as to why I was calling him out on it.

Is it based on your previous schooling? I know that growing up in Vancouver, we were hounded by teachers to always cite sources and to not even consider cheating. Maybe elsewhere in the world, citing sources isn’t stressed and it’s ok toย borrow ideas?

Any other teachers encounter this and any insights?

3 thoughts on “Classroom Disappointment

Leave a Reply

