In the Kitchen

Holiday Cookie Round-Up 2014

Christmas is just around the corner and I don’t know about you but I’m doing a lot of baking. I love giving them as gifts because I think it’s personal and shows that you put effort into it. Instead of writing a blog post for each recipe, I’m going to link you to them. I’ve tried them out, they’re great, and I honestly wouldn’t change anything about them. So here are some of my favourite cookie recipes this year, in no particular order:

  1. Lauren Conrad’s Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies
    • Time allotted: 1.5 hours because the hot mixture takes time to cool dwn
    • A twist on a classic favourite. Browning the butter gives it an extra nutty flavour and salt balances out the sweetness perfectly. For me, instead of refrigerating the dough, I made sure to cool down the melted butter completely before continuing so that I didn’t have to refrigerate the dough.
  2. Walker’s Look-a-like Shortbread
    • Time allotted: 1.75 hours because baking time is 45 min.
    • Another classic that many may remember from their childhood. Shortbread it something that is very easy and requires little ingredients. All you need is butter, flour, and sugar. Easy right? In the recipe, it says to cool the dough in the fridge for an hour but if you have a very cold fridge like mine, just pop it in their for 30 minutes.
  3. Chewy Lemon Sugar Cookies
    • Time allotted: 1.5 hours
    • These are so good. They have the perfect texture and just the right amount of sweetness. In my variation, I added the zest of one entire lemon and I thought that brought the cookie up to another level. This recipe makes a lot of cookies so they’re perfect to bring in to work or as gifts.
  4. Chewy Ginger Snaps
    • Time allotted: 1.5 hours
    • Again, so good. I brought these to a gift exchange and they were gone instantly. If you don’t have all spice or nutmeg, the cookie is just as good with cinnamon and ginger. I upped the amount of ginger because I love that flavour. I would refrigerate the dough for about 30 minutes because for me, the dough was very soft and hard to work with. If you’re able to without refrigerating, do it because I made a couple like that and the texture was amazing! Just a tad difficult to roll.

 

One thought on “Holiday Cookie Round-Up 2014

Leave a Reply

