Life · Work Life

Best Christmas Gift This Year

I didn’t receive this gift as a Christmas present and neither did I go out to purchase it on boxing day. Rather, one of the best gifts I received this year, was the gift of teaching.

The Shenanigans Team ;)
The Shenanigans Team ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve mentioned it in a post before, but I can’t help but feel blessed to have the privilege to teach. Teaching has been so incredibly rewarding and because I teach ESL in an international school, I’m able to meet so many inspiring people from different walks of life. On the outside, it seems like they’re getting something from me because I’m the teacher, but in reality, it’s an equal exchange because I learn so much from them too.

Last week we had a farewell dinner because a large group of my students (past and present) were going home for Christmas. As the night went on, we moved from dinner to drinks and I realized how much I was going to miss this bunch of silly people. I felt so blessed in that moment because they are awesome students to work with but also a fun group of friends now that we weren’t on aย teacher-student relationship (I’m no longer their teacher). It also probably helps because I’m around their age so we have lots to talk about.

What I’m trying to say is that I’m so happy to have stumbled into teaching because I couldn’t possibly imagine myself being happy doing anything else. Everyday I get to help someone learn something they didn’t know before or help them master something that has been difficult for them. I’m glad that I went through that difficult jobless time because it made me search for and consider another career. Teaching seems like the perfect fit for me and my personality. It’s also been reassuring hearing this confirmation from family, friends that I’m close with and even old friendsย that I haven’t touched base withย in a while.

From me to you, I’m wishing you a very merry Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

