Life · Work Life

A “Real Job”

What is a “real job“?

Photo credit: ste3ve / VisualHunt / CC BY-SA
Photo credit: ste3ve / VisualHunt / CC BY-SA

I’ve come to realize that a job is a job is a job is a job. No job is lesser than another, but rather we do them to sustain ourselves. Jobs help us pay rent, the bills, put food on the table, and enjoy things in life so I don’t think it really matters what one does for work.Of course everyone is different and some most definitely prefer the steadiness of a 9-5 ย job, while others are content with the “unconventional” jobs.

I put that in quotation marks because you’d be surprised how many jobs are really considered unconventional versus the conventional. I’m sure there are plenty in every field of work. Take my job for example: yes it’s teachingย but it’s not in the public school system, I’m not salaried, and I don’t work the typical 8-3. Rather, I teach in a private ESL school, get paid by the hour, and I only work 4 hours.

But you know what, I really enjoy it. Majority of our students are so motivated because they chose to be there to study English, I still have steady and guaranteed hours, and my pay is enough to sustain my lifestyle. Bonus, I only need to work 4 hours of the day and have the rest to work on YouTube stuff, this blog, and other side projects that semi supplement my income. (Side note: I just realized my 4 hrs/day work pay is equivalent to someone working a somewhat entry level job for 8-9hrs/day. So win!)

I’m not trying to sell you on becoming an ESL teacher. What I’m trying to say is that everyone has their work and they’re all equal. As long as it works for your lifestyle and can sustain your spending habits, then it’s all fine and dandy. There’s no need to try and push someone into another line of work because you don’t agree with what they’re doing. If it’s illegal then it’s a whole different story but surely that’s the exception!

I say this because it’s been difficult for my parents to come to terms with the kind of work I do. They were okay with it when they thought it was a temporary thing that would hold me over until I found a “real job” that was related to my university degree. But at this point in my life, this is working really well for me. I know for some people, career is their life and it’s everything to them. But for me, it only comes secondary to my faith, family, and friends, so really it’s in 4th place.

Hopefully this can be either some encouragement for you, or a gentle reminder to just support your loved ones in their choices.

Choose Happy

Leave a Reply

