In the Kitchen · Pinterest Experiments

Pinterest Experiment #5: Bloomin’ Onion Bread

Pinterest version
Pinterest Version

I saw this idea on Pinterest a while ago and wanted to make it but I had one problem: This bread serves an army and it’s only Kelvin and I at home. So I waited, and waited, and waited, for the opportunity to bring it to either a potluck or party. Hurrah for the Halloween potluck our friend threw so I could finally make this glorious dish! Β I wanted to take a nice professional-ish photo of my finished product but I finished it off at the party so you’ll have to settle for my iPhone pic, but I will describe to you in as much detail as possible, to make your mouth water πŸ˜‰

So let’s start with the bread. Oh my goodness this bread. Made by the talented Nicole, owner of Cake by NicoleΒ (pst she makes beautiful wedding cakes so check her out for that!). It’s a sourdough bread and oh my goodness… forget all the store bought loaves although I’m sure it would have tasted great that way too. But this bread, it had this amazing crust and the inside was soft and, my goodness as I’m typing this I’m drooling just thinking about it. Imagine the most amazing bread you’ve ever had, this may just be better. I mean, just look at it!

DSC_0126Β Β DSC_0128

 

Now this recipe is actually quite simple. First step is to prepare the filling. Slice up your mozzarella or any sort of melty white cheese (spicy Monterey Jack would be good too!). Avoid cheddar just because when it bakes, it releases a lot of oil and the end product becomes too greasy. I used about 3/4 of a medium size block of mozzarella. Next, melt 1/2 cup of butter and stir in 3-4 chopped green onions and about 2 tbsp of poppy seeds. The poppy seeds are optional, but it makes the end product pretty. Thinking of it now, adding a tbsp of garlic powder would have made this the ultimate cheesy garlic bread…Next time!

DSC_0131Β DSC_0132

Next, carefully cut a grid pattern into your loaf of bread. This will be a lot easier if you buy a regular soft loaf that doesn’t have a crusty crust. I had a bit of difficulty slicing the sourdough loaf, but all the hard work was worth it. If you’re going to be getting bread like mine, make sure you’re very careful when slicing! I had a few almost accidents.Β Cut almost all the way through to the bottom, but cut just shy of it so it stays in tact when baking. This way, it’s great for sharing because people can grab a square portion or two.

DSC_0130Β DSC_0133

Now time for the fun part! Take your cheese slices and place it in between every cut edge!Β Every cut edge. Oh yeah, this is going to be one hell of a cheesy bread. Trim your cheese slices, when need be, to fit into each spot. Then spoon the melted butter mixture all over the loaf and let it soak into every open crevice.

DSC_0134

Bake the loaf in a 350F oven, covered for 15 minutes, then uncovered for 5-10 minutes to finish melting and browning the cheese. I baked mine in a casserole dish lined with foil and I’d recommend that just for easy clean-up. Present however fancy or humble you like. Either way, the loaf itself will be the centre of attention.

Now just try and keep your hands off this beauty before all your guests arrive. The bread was crisp and crusty on the outside, buttery, soft, and ooey gooey cheesy on the inside. I guarantee this will be a hit at your next potluck or party (unless all your friends are gluten free or vegan)! It looks great and it tastes absolutely amazing. You’ll be sure to get a lot of oohs and aahs too.

Thanks for reading and have a great weekend! Let me know if you end up trying this and how it turned out πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Pinterest Experiment #5: Bloomin’ Onion Bread

Leave a Reply

